Featured image of article: ConVal A Team Wins National Ocean Sciences Nor’Easter Bowl

ConVal A Team Wins National Ocean Sciences Nor’Easter Bowl

On Saturday, February 4, 2017, ConVal’s National Ocean Sciences Bowl (NOSB) Team A took first place in the 2017 Nor’easter Bowl that was held at the University of New Hampshire in Durham.

After five round-robin competition matches and five additional double-elimination rounds, ConVal A met York A in the Nor’easter Bowl finals. The final matchup was a rematch of last year’s final, in which the team from Maine was victorious. This year, it was ConVal’s turn as Team A secured a win and so remained undefeated throughout the entire competition.

ConVal Team A consisted of Michael Zrzavy (captain), Sawyer Cawthern, Marlena Sorbello, and Tim Whitaker, with Savannah Kersbergen as alternate. Players on Team B were Diego Juarez, Katorina Keenan, Edmund Pope, Woody Stockwell, and Bronwyn Tyler-Wall.

“I was really impressed with our A Team’s patience and focus,” said Ocean Bowl coach Ken Cloutier.  “The B Team gained valuable experience and they are all sophomores, so the future looks bright.”

The Nor’easter Bowl is a regional competition of the National Ocean Sciences Bowl (NOSB). This annual academic competition tests high school students’ knowledge of marine sciences, including marine biology; chemical, physical, and biological oceanography; marine geology and geophysics; marine engineering; and marine policy.

The event was sponsored by the University of New Hampshire School of Marine Science and Ocean Engineering, New Hampshire Sea Grant, the UNH Cooperative Extension, UNH Marine Docents, Maine Sea Grant, The University of Maine, The University of New England, and the Consortium for Ocean Leadership.


Team A (seated): Michael Zrzavy (captain), Marlena Sorbello, Sawyer Cawthern, Tim Whitaker, and Savannah Kersbergen (alternate).

Team B (standing): Bronwyn Tyler-Wall, Katorina Keenan, Edmund Pope, Daniel Stockwell, Diego Juarez.